Armenia, Colombia and Zambia receive EITI Chair Awards

Chair of the EITI, Fredrik Reinfeldt, on Tuesday announced Armenia, Columbia and Zambia as the three winners of the 2019 EITI Chair’s Award at the opening session of the EITI Global Conference in Paris.

The EITI Chair’s Awards recognise countries that have shown leadership, determination and resourcefulness in implementing the EITI.

Armenia, a newcomer to the EITI began with innovation and high pace by fostering cooperation between government, businesses, and civil society.

Following the path of systematic disclosures, Armenia EITI has established an e-reporting platform, which also serves as a data portal.”

Also, Columbia was recognized for having made good progress on environmental information and has developed a reporting portal. The country achieved satisfactory progress in 2018.”

Similarly, Zambia EITI was honoured for modelling the financial structure of the sector based on EITI data to inform the quite heated debate on the fiscal regime.

They are presently working with the Office of the Auditor General to eventually absorb the function of the Independent Administrator, ensuring existing systems and capacities are prioritised, resourced and strengthened.

They are also establishing a beneficial ownership register, and linking that system to the mining cadastre.

Will private management of Nigeria's refineries be a success story?

Subscribe To Newsletter

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top